It's Almost Time for Band Camp!

  • Click here to read about the student leaders of the 2014 Marching Band! 


  • Final payment for Marching Band and Color Guard is due August 1.
  • Completed Orchestra forms and payment are due August 1.
  • Don't have the paperwork for those ensembles? Click here to get it!
  • Band Camp for the entire Marching Band & Color Guard is scheduled for August 4-15
  • Orchestra Camp is scheduled for August 6 and 7.


(Choir, Jazz, and Non-Marching Concert Band students, check back here in August for additional info and forms!)

Welcome to Los Gatos High School Music!

Los Gatos High School is proud to offer a comprehensive Music Department for students in grades 9-12, with a 130-member marching band, 2 concert bands, 2 orchestras, 3 choirs, 1 jazz band, 1 color guard, 1 percussion techniques class, and 2 courses in music theory. The Department also offers indoor winter guard and a winter percussion ensemble.

In 2014-2015 the Music Department anticipates again breaking enrollment records, with approximately 300 students involved in one or more of these outstanding programs. LGHS Music ensembles have recently been recognized for excellence in performance with several CMEA Unanimous Superior ratings, Gold ratings and Overall Program sweepstakes in the Heritage Music Festival, and several top rankings in its marching programs.

Every four years, the Music Department embarks on an international summer performance tour. Most recently, in June 2014, students in Symphonic Band & Wind Ensemble, Orchestra, and Choir toured England, where they collaborated with world-renowned American composer Frank Ticheli, performed in major historic venues in London, York, and Harrogate, and participated in the Harrogate International Music Festival. Click on Photos & Videos to see and hear our Music students deliver world-class performances.

Explore this site to learn more about the Music Department, and be sure to click on the About section to read about our outstanding students, faculty, and Boosters organization. LGHS students and families are invited to join the Department in its ongoing musical journey -- whether by enrolling in one or more of its stellar programs, by volunteering to support its activities, or by attending one or more of its numerous ensemble performances throughout the year.

See you in class . . . and at the show!

LGHS Orchestra student Shota Homma, who will be a junior this fall, recently won a prestigious statewide piano competition. Read the full article here, written by fellow Orchestra student Hyuntae Byun, describing this latest entry in Shota's impressive musical resume. Congratulations to Shota!

Following what he calls "the most prepared auditions I have heard yet!", Music Director Chris Marra posted placement results for Concert Bands and Jazz Band, available at his teacher website page. He added, "I am really impressed and inspired by all of the care and preparation that the students put into these auditions." He also noted that an additional course option is available to aspiring percussionists starting in fall 2014 (details available here).

Music ensembles played their final performances of the year on May 15 & 16, and the following students received special recognition from staff for their music contributions and achievements in 2013-2014. Congratulations to all the honorees!

Instrumental Ensembles

John Philip Sousa Band Award®: Sebastian Alarcon

Introduced in 1955, this award honors the top student in the high school band, recognizing superior musicianship, dependability, loyalty, and cooperation.  It was created with the approval of Helen Sousa Albert and Priscilla Sousa, daughters of the famous composer and bandmaster.

National School Orchestra Award®: Dane Huesby

The counterpart to the Sousa Band Award®, this is the highest honor bestowed on a member of the high school orchestra, to recognize excellence in playing and contributions to the ensemble.

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award®: Michael Whalen

This award was inaugurated in 1974, shortly after the great jazz artist died in 1971. It honors the outstanding achievements in the field of jazz as demonstrated through superior musicianship, character, and individual creativity.

George Penniman Award:  Laura Wooley

George Penniman was an LGHS student and drum major in the early 1960s. He was known for his outstanding character and dedication to the LGHS music program, and was a recipient of the Sousa Band Award in 1964. After graduating, he served in Vietnam, and was killed in a training accident in San Diego.  This award was originally created in his honor, and was reinstated in 2010.

LGHS Music Hall of Fame, for selection to Santa Clara County Honor Band:
Sebastian Alarcon, Lewis Fowler, Jeanette Sullivan

Outstanding Musician: Carlo Armijo

Outstanding Freshman: Arjun Natarajan

Outstanding Orchestra Section: Cellos

Outstanding Wind Ensemble Section: Low Brass and Bass

Outstanding Symphonic Band Section: Flutes

Most Improved Orchestra Member: Aviv Ben-Dashan

Most Improved Jazz Band Member: Seiji Hall

Marching Band

National School Marching Award (known as the “Golden Shoe” at LGHS):
Riki McDaniel

This award recognizes outstanding contributions on the field and honors the musical contributions and dedication of student leaders whose example inspires others.

Percussion "Sticks" Award: Natasha "Tosh" Noskowski

Most Dedicated: Josina-Els "Zina" Bol

Most Team Spirit: Sachiye Koide

Most Improved: Zane Marte

Outstanding Section: Percussion

Fall Color Guard

Outstanding Member: Alyssa Northon

Most Improved: Morgan Moessinger

Winter Guard

Outstanding Leader/Captain: Gina Lawler

Outstanding Flag: Marissa Maidman, Kristin Slinger

Outstanding Rifle: Emma Webber

Outstanding Dancer: Chloe Loomer

Most Improved Flag: Lucie Gabaglio, Hannah Westall-Toler

Most Improved Rifle: Jasmyn Teixeira

Most Improved DancerJordan Leach, Marissa Tippets


Chamber, 3rd Period:

National Choir Award: Nitin Srinivasan

Outstanding Ensemble Member: Marissa Proverbs

Director's AwardIsabella Hill

Chamber, 5th Period:

National Choir AwardHannah Heumann

Outstanding Ensemble MemberColette Marcellin

Director's AwardAnnika Morrell


Outstanding Ensemble MemberKayce Hobson

Director's Award: Abigail Kaupert